About Not Giving Up…

I ran into my friend Jeff the other day, who said very matter-of-factly, “You haven’t been writing in your blog.  I’ve been checking, and you haven’t written since June 27th.  Why not?” 

Gosh, I really didn’t know where to start!  I told him that I didn’t want to sit there and make a bunch of excuses, but it HAS been a rather busy summer!  And yes, I did feel a bit overwhelmed and frustrated over things I could not control!   Sometimes when that happens I start to shut down.  Sometimes I start to give up.  Not on everything, but on those things that feel the most difficult to me.  Sometimes, even things that are the most important to me.

What’s up with that?  When Coach Wendy asked me what was going on, I told her I just needed to get my “stuff” together, only I’m pretty sure I used a different word.  OK, it was a different word.  About that time, Dennis posted on Facebook that he was looking for people to participate in different events.  When I saw the Colorado State University RAM Bicycle Classic, my eyes lit up!  After checking it out and discovering that the 35-mile ride was not up the Horsetooth hills I said, “I can do this!”  (LOve, LOVe, LOVE those hills, but I’m not ready to pull Zachary up -or down- them!)

 It had been awhile since I had taken my buddy out for a walk, so I thought that would be the best place to start – to remind myself how special this friendship is.  It was a Wednesday night, a little later than I had planned but I told myself that I would not give up!  I would be patient and make the best of the time we could get together.  All I can say is WOW!  Zachary was in a great mood!

Zachary looking at the pond

In case you don’t know, Mr. Z loves the water!  We have visited this little pond several times, and it just seems to make him happy to hang out there under the trees and look at the water.  Just look at his face!  🙂

We were out for about 1.5 hours, it was dark when we got back, and Zachary seemed very tired.  I thought I had worn him out!  However, when I got home I had this text on my phone!

This is so great!

You know, Sandy and I had a discussion today about what others might see during races and what they don’t see.  Often times when Zachary is at an event he might not always be smiling, or he might fall asleep so the benefits are not necessarily immediately obvious.  What you and I might not see, are the after-effects of the fresh air and being outside!  I know how it makes me feel, but imagine it for a person whose world is different from ours!  Imagine how it must feel for someone who can’t just walk outside or take a run whenever he wants!  There are benefits we probably can’t even fathom.

Anyway, at that time I really needed the boost that this one little text gave me!  Not necessarily validation, but more of a reminder of the positive.  This made me so happy! 

The following week I got to go to Zachary’s SECOND 21st birthday party!  (we won’t talk about the first ~ahem~ “Hooters” party, although I’ve seen the pictures and he was in heaven!)  There were so many wonderful people there – I loved meeting Zachary’s family and friends – such wonderful people!  Then there was getting out on the dance floor with Zachary surrounded by a bunch of ladies dancing with him!  It really was a magical night!  One that came from such loving friends and family!  Zachary’s Aunt Kathleen took these great photos!  Thanks, Kathleen!

Great Party, Zachary!

Zachary’s Brother Taylor!

 

Dancin’ the NIght Away!

 

With Zachary and Stephanie on the dance floor!

Awesome.  I have so much more to write about, but I think it’s past my bedtime!  I really want to tell you that I have not given up!  I have not given up on making time for people and activities that mean so much to me, and I have not given up on taking care of myself!  Zachary and I rode in the RAM Classic 35-mile ride today, and I’m beat! 

So, I guess you will have to wait for my next post to see the photos and hear how our day went… and I promise it won’t be two months before I fill you in on the details!  Cheers, friends!

This entry was posted in My Friend Zachary and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to About Not Giving Up…

  1. Kathleen Michie says:

    Susan,
    Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts and the pictures. I am sitting next to Zachary’s great grandma (my grandma) at the hospital. Your story made her smile.
    Kathleen

Leave a Reply

