Bike MS

bikelogo

Do you know someone with Multiple Sclerosis?  Perhaps a coworker, friend, cousin, aunt, niece or brother?  I do, and I’ll bet you do, too. 

I’m not going to pretend to know much about MS.  My very limited knowledge was gained from the sidelines, witnessing two friends as they each began to have symptoms, when they received their diagnoses, during times when the disease was more debilitating and those times in between when the MS was quiet and a stranger might not have even suspected.  But I knew. 

I just didn’t know what I could do to help.  I mean, I donated to the MS Society, but never really quite felt like I was helping. I was aware of the MS 150 bike ride, but at the time wasn’t aware of my ability to do it.  It sounds scary, right?  150+ miles… in two days?  Since then, I’ve discovered that I love to ride!  Even better, I love to conquer big goals, especially if I can help someone else in the process.  It makes it feel so real and worthwhile – and not just about me.

A couple of months ago, my friend Jim asked me to participate on the Christian Living Communities http://www.christianlivingcommunities.org/ Bike MS team.  He hadn’t signed up yet, but was trying to find out if I was interested.  Little did he know… I was so excited (and scared) that I badgered him until we both signed up for the team.  Commitment made – and not just 150 miles, but 160!  Part of that commitment is raising at least $400.00 each for the National Multiple Sclerosis Society.  

Someone is always fundraising for a worthy cause.  They are all important.  It’s difficult to ask people to choose and to give their time and hard-earned money, but I can’t express enough that every little bit counts.  In fact, I was slightly afraid that this would take me away from my favorite local charity, Athletes in Tandem, but I know I can do both! (you can read about AiT in my posts under the category “My Friend Zachary”).  

My first donation was from a man I haven’t met… yet.  His daughter has MS.  Thank you Clifford!  My second is from a friend who just wants to help.  I didn’t ask about her connection to MS but I truly appreciate the donation!  Thanks, Jackie! 

Since committing to the team, I’ve learned of two other people I know and love who have MS.  It’s so unpredictable.  I can help.  WE can help.  Please visit my personal page to learn more or if you would like to make a donation.  

http://main.nationalmssociety.org/site/TR/Bike/COCBikeEvents?px=11865454&pg=personal&fr_id=20901

Thanks!

This entry was posted in Bike MS Colorado 2013 and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

